Synthesis from L-Phenylalanine to Amphetamine possible?

TotalNoob

Don't buy from me
Reaction score
UN89sHABih

Sorry for the probably dumb question, I am a complete chemistry noob. Can the experts explain to me how one would replace the carboxyl group with a methyl group? Could yeast be genetically engineered to perform the synthesis? I know there are certain enzymes like N-alpha methyltransferases that might be able to achieve this, but its probably BS. Otherwise someone else would have already done this , right? I mean our body itself transforms L-Phenylalanine -> L-Tyrosin -> L-DOPA -> Dopamine, correct?

Regards

G.Patton

Expert
Solutions
Reaction score
Deals
It is one of the unsolved problems of organic chemistry of prohibited substances. Now, we don't have an easy methods to do this.
L-Phenylalanine -> amp

Last edited:

beetlebb

Don't buy from me
Reaction score
Strecker Degradation of amino acids (AAs) to ketones is what you are looking for.

J. Org. Chem. 29, 1424 (1964)

Attachments

• buXlQ6Sh40.pdf
    818.4 KB · Views: 1,134

Pussy_Kurt

Don't buy from me
Reaction score
Another route is oxidation to Phenylalanine to Phenylacetonitril and then, after many steps P2P ... you know

serialz

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
Minor Strecker degradation products of phenylalanine and phenylglycine